The Hydro Clock

Posted by Tembua’s former Marketing Coordinator, who began this blog.

I have a little blue hydro clock on my desk. It’s a sample from my very hard working promotional products vendor, Mike Getzkin. It’s a tiny thing you fill with any liquid – soda, milk, scotch – and the chemical reaction generates enough energy to run the digital clock. Cute as a button. I played with it for two days; now it’s gathering fuzz in the back of a drawer.

The idea with this trinket is to paste your corporate information on the clock and give it to clients, hoping they’ll keep it on their desks and refer to it – and the info – when the need arises. A time honored tradition of corporate product placement. A tradition needing tweaking, however, in today’s business environment.

I attend numerous trade shows and conferences each year – which means I have an impressive collection of conference bags, pens, notepads, stress balls, lens cloths, letter openers, coasters – need I go on? So many things I toss or leave behind. What a waste.

In 2009, my marketing dollars need to stretch to the moon and back, encompassing the TEMBUA name switch – and all that entails – as well as my normal marketing goals for the year. My goal? Everything I do, everything that leaves this office, must help promote the Tembua name change. Love the hydro clock – but then, I loved the bobblehead pen and the nail kit and the mini mag light I got last year -and I don’t see them anywhere now, nor can I tell which company they came from. Sooo, all that I do. Everything that leaves the office. Everything. Counts.

Poor Mike is in for a bit of work. Good thing he’s good at what he does.

About tembua

Tembua: The Precision Language Solution provides comprehensive linguistic services for 100 languages to private industry and government agencies on a global scale. Services include document and website translation and localization; conference and 24/7 telephonic interpretation; glossary development; proofreading, text adaptation, editing, multilingual design and DTP; transcription; technical / custom authoring editing, foreign search engine optimization; translation memory management; subtitling.
This entry was posted in Teena. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hydro Clock

  1. highlightprinting says:

    Teena: LOVE this insite into you and the journey your company is on. Keep it up. Every business is in the same boat as you this year – including ours. Oour plan? Marketing (direct mail and hand outs), Networking (e-networking and WBDC-MN & AWC), and direct sales. Every effort and every dime counts this year!

    -Lisa Bickford,
    Highlight Printing

    Like

Leave a Reply

