Morphing Pains

Posted by Tembua’s former Marketing Coordinator, who began this blog.

In the midst of our corporate name change to Tembua, the Precision Language Solution, I find myself suddenly nostalgic for Precision Language Services, our original company name. Silly, I know; it’s just a different name and minor change to the logo. I know the whole name change thing is a reflection of our company’s steady growth and expanded services. It shouldn’t throw me, yet somehow it does.

This week I caught myself stumbling when making introductions or answering the phone. So much is in transition during this phase of my planned changeover. Our business cards as well as our website will carry both logos for the remainder of the year. Our greetings – on emails, phones and stationary – reflect both names (“Good morning Tembua, the NEW face of Precision Language Services; how may I help you?).

Can one mourn an inanimate thing? I thought on this during the drive into work. Perhaps I’ve been so immersed in orchestrating the smooth transition from one name to the other that I’ve ignored the attachments we’ve all made to Precision Language Services.

I remember my first week at Precision Language Services, laughing as I stumbled over the name the first few times. I look around; my office is filled with Precision Language Services coasters, letter openers and pens. I have a Precision Language Services polo shirt – even my mouse pad reflects the old logo.

I love the Tembua story. I love how the transition from our simple beginnings 16 years ago to our global reach today is reflected in the Tembua name and logo. I love as well, the challenges that come with morphing the old with the new. I know all that, yet still feel a twinge of sadness ordering new stationary or replacing name badges.

In my hand, I hold a granite paperweight engraved with the Precision Language Services logo – a sample from our vendor. Reaching for the trash I pause, then open the desk drawer and tuck it away.
Not this month.

About tembua

Tembua: The Precision Language Solution provides comprehensive linguistic services for 100 languages to private industry and government agencies on a global scale. Services include document and website translation and localization; conference and 24/7 telephonic interpretation; glossary development; proofreading, text adaptation, editing, multilingual design and DTP; transcription; technical / custom authoring editing, foreign search engine optimization; translation memory management; subtitling.
This entry was posted in Teena. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

