Don’t stop publishing but don’t stop thinking

A Somali immigrant working as a highly skilled medical technologist told me he loved living in the US because he can say anything he wants without being afraid. But he added, “Just because I can doesn’t mean I always do say what I’m thinking. You have to consider other people’s feelings.”

Freedom of speech is one of the foundations of our democracy and I will fight tooth and nail to protect it. But it’s up to the individual to consider other people’s feelings. I have a box of letters from several generations ago. Some of the content would still hurt the descendants of the writer. No one else will ever see those letters.

I’m certainly not a journalist and I’m not sure how this applies to editorials and cartoons. I do know that, as a Christian, I would have reacted very strongly if the Charlie Hebdo issue had depicted Jesus instead of Mohammed. My response would not, however, have been violent.

That’s how we grow in a democracy. We march. We talk. We yell. We protest. We legislate and we educate. And our society changes for the better.

No one should have to self-censor by thinking before they make a joke and I strongly defend the right to publish whatever content you want. But everyone should think about how that joke will be received.

About tembua

Tembua: The Precision Language Solution provides comprehensive linguistic services for 100 languages to private industry and government agencies on a global scale. Services include document and website translation and localization; conference and 24/7 telephonic interpretation; glossary development; proofreading, text adaptation, editing, multilingual design and DTP; transcription; technical / custom authoring editing, foreign search engine optimization; translation memory management; subtitling.
This entry was posted in Tembua. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

